A Blog With Purpose

Finally, I am starting a blog.  FINALLY!  I’ve put it off, trying to choose a topic with the goal of this being a niche blog.  Finally, I gave up, and decided that I better just get started, lest this blog end up banished to the back of my mind forever.  Over the years, I’ve learned that often the best way to figure out what to do is to get going, and let the answer come.

As the people who know me well can attest, I have many diverse interests.  I am a jack-of-all trades and a master of none in the truest sense of the expression.  If I learn enough about anything, I get sucked in, and then I’m toast–I’ve got another interest!

In the wake of many recent life changes, including a relocation that has led me on the search for a new job calling, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about what I want to do with my life, and I just can’t narrow it down to one particular passion (or even a handful…).  Are there any careers perfectly suited for such a person?  Not that I know of.  Do I need to become an expert in one thing?  No.  But if I want to make a meaningful contribution, if I want to leave a legacy, if I want to have some authority in a field, specialization of some sort has got to happen.

This blog is going to help me get there.  The plan is to start blogging about any and all interests and my sometimes crazy schemes, and see what I gravitate towards, what I enjoy writing the most about, what posts tend to be most loved by readers.  I hope the process will be both liberating and narrowing.  Over time, I think the answer will come. 

Although the inspiration for this project is to help me learn more about myself, I hope that it will also be equally helpful to my readers!  I also started this blog with the intention of making writing a daily discipline.  Writing is perhaps my longest-held interest, and I always want it to be a part of my life, whether I’m writing professionally or not.   

Okay, everyone, here goes: I can do anything, but not everything!

Leave a Reply

